Hello World!

After the blackout that was this summer in NYC, I’m back online.

Just a brief update: I spent the summer living in Harlem with Jill (best friend from middle school) and traveling up and down and up the east coast. It was great. The summer was a really wonderful reminder of what a loving community of friends and family I have.

It was interesting to live in Harlem, its quite a different scene than the rest of Manhattan. It can be just about as crowded as Times Square, but instead of photo-taking tourists slow-walking tourists it’s filled with a community. Sure, there were some incidents while I lived there, but the most exciting incident that happened in to Jill and me was when a rat ran over Jill’s foot. Ew. Ew.

I spent a week in Greece with baby bro Kasey. Greece is amazing. Its paradise. Total paradise. We went to Athens, San Tourini and Iraklion and Chania in Crete. Unfortunately, a proper blog on Greece will have to wait until I have photos. Kasey has my camera, the why is complicated, his camera is with me in Paris.

Which brings me to my next point, I am back in Paris!!! Its strange to be back here. I feel less like an outsider; I know how to navigate the metro, avoid the dog poop on the street, deal with convention, speak the language (sort of, it comes and goes), etc. Still, its strange. There’s something about coming back here for round 2 that is just different.

I’m spending my time teaching English in Saint Ouen (just to the north of Paris, its a pain in the cul to get there, but it gives me some solid metro reading time) through the Teaching Assistants in France (TAPIF) program. I teach at 3 different primary schools and have about 12 different classes, all about 45 minutes each. Its a lot of work, but so far, so very good. We’ve had a couple trainings so far, and I’ve learned some tactics about teaching French children the “H” souflee (it’s HAH-loween, not ‘alloween) and been given some very basic tactics for songs and such, but programs need to be tailored for each class.

As I’m back online, look out for posts re: my new ‘hood, the strikes in Paris, eating at school cantten (cafeteria at the primary school), strict teachers and ‘alloween (err, I mean Halloween).

OK OK, one iconic shot:

2 thoughts on “Hello World!

  1. Hey Lily!
    Glad you’re back on the blog. I enjoy reading of your travels and experiences so much. I envy you so, but I’m also happy for you and proud of all you’ve done. Keep posting so us ‘stay at homes’ can enjoy.
    Larry

Leave a Reply

