Tour de mon Voisinage

I’ve arrived in Paris.

I took the chunnel from London, I was surprised to realize that the train takes a little over 2 hours, and we were only underground for about 15 minutes.  I then took a cab from the train station to my apartment in the 5th arrondissment, Rue Poliveau.  I usually don’t take cabs, but I brought a lot of books, as I have a thesis to write.  My bags weigh over 70 pounds, more than half my weight.

My landlord is all that I could ask for, she’s interesting and interested. She has 5 children all around my age, I’ve met two of the eldest.

This morning I took a long walk around my neighborhood.  I kept on stumbling across people dancing, it was quite beautiful.

This was right outside of an open air market, there was one person playing the accordion, another with the flute and the rest was recorded.

openairmarketopen air market

Afterwards I walked along the Seine, cerca de the outside sculpture garden. Here there were people taking waltz dance lessons, although I couldn’t tell if they paid to take the lessons.  It seemed like the onlookers would casually join in.

And here’s a bit of the sculpture garden:

sculpture

I live close to a Muslim neighborhood, so I also came across the local Mosque:

mosque

I’m also close to the Jardin de Plantes, the largest outdoor gardens in Pairs.

jardin de plantesInside the Jardins is the Natural History museum, complete with the Evolution Exhibit:

evolution exhibit2Would this even be allowed in the U.S.? I mean, I know that there is the Creation Museum, but I feel like an Evolution Exhibition would not be considered P.C. in the U.S. of A.

Leave a Reply

