Paris

I arrived in Paris after waking up in Amsterdam and spending the day in Brussels.  I took the train to Brussels, put all of my things in a storage locker, and toured the city for the day.  I had three goals in Brussels: European Union Parliament, beer and chocolate.

I’d been reading the Herald Tribune while traveling, and the Tribune frequently mentions the EUP, so I wanted to see this place for myself.  I didn’t have enough time to tour the building, I just metro-ed to the EUP, took a photo and stood there to get the sense of the place, and metro-ed back into town. The reasoning behind beer and chocolate is self-explanatory.

I got into Paris late, and basically just went straight to my hotel.  I stayed in Pierre Laval, technically a suburb of Paris, but its just outside the city border.  I was in a tiny and beautiful hotel room.  The room was the perfect size for me, the bath was not enclosed, but was parceled away from the bed. The window looked to the south, towards the Eiffel Tower. I couldn’t quite see the ET from my window, my view was waves of Parisian rooftops.

I consider pretty much everything to be in walking distance, and so I walked from my hotel to the Arc de Triumph (30 minutes) to the Eiffel Tower (45 minutes) and then all along the Champs de Elysees (all day). I realized I never wanted to leave Paris 15 minutes into this long walk.

It was strange and almost indescribable. It was totally irrational, I speak about 20 words in French and have a terrible accent.  It was not within my 6 month plan, I had planned to go to Missoula Montana and write my thesis.  It was not financially responsible, the cost of living is comparably high in Paris (although, I’m from New York and was living in D.C., so everything seems cheap to me). I don’t know anyone in Paris, whereas I have a lot of connections to Missoula and within the United States.

But, trumping all of those rational reasons not to was an overwhelming feeling that I had to be in Paris.  We just connected.  I wanted to learn about the city, to understand it.  I also wanted to know nothing about it,  just appreciate it for its aesthetic beauty. I guess I fell in love.

And so, unhappy to part from this new love, I returned to the states a few weeks later and made arrangements to go to Paris for the fall.  I’ll be living in the 5th arrondissment, the oldest of all of the sections of Paris.  I’ll be living a 5 minute walk from the Seine and Jardin de Plantes. I found a room in an apartment through a friend of a friend of a friend of my aunt Dana (networking!).

Georgetown, in its benevolence, is allowing me to take my last semester abroad.  I actually see Paris as a continuation of my Georgetown education.  For the past two and a half years I’ve been learning about European history, and Paris is historicially a philosophical center of Europe.  Where better to write my thesis??

In preperation for my trip, I’ve been reading “Seven Ages of Paris,” by Alistair Horne.  I’m happy to discover that I know more about Paris than I thought, all thanks to the BALS program at Georgetown.

I’ll also be taking a French class during my time abroad.  I’m an awful speller, but I’m not too bad at learning languages.  Fortunately, French words actually make sense.  I’ve been surprised to realize the close relationship between French and English vocabulary.  Sure, the words are pronouced totally differently, but the root of the words is strikingly similar.  When a French word is unlike its English counterpart, its usually similar to its Spanish counterpart (I can get by in Spanish).  So, it all sort of makes sesne.

Paris is the perfect place to write my thesis. I went to Paris to see a Kandinsky exhibit at the Centre Pompideu. Wassily Kandinsky was an abstract Hungarian artist who lived in Munich.  The exhibit is actually traveling to the Gugenheim on September 18th, so for all you New Yorkers out there – I highly recommend this incredible exhibit. It makes sense that writers and artists come to Paris to produce, there’s an incredible Stadtgeist to Paris.

I also have a fantastic online job.  As long as I have internet, I can literally be anywhere in the world.

I’m excited. I leave at the end of this month.

7 thoughts on “Paris

  1. Well, I got the job at Missoula Housing Authority so now I owe you a LARGE beer. Sad I won’t see you in Missoula, but regardless make the best of Paris, it will be over before you know it.

    • Lili
      You are indeed something! I have enjoyed tremendously living your trip vicariously through you. Please keep blogging when you go back to Paris. I’m going to London in October, but it sounds like I must put Paris on my travel plans. Enjoy and keep writing.
      Larry

      • I’ll definitely continue blogging. That’d be wonderful if you came to Paris! Why are you going to London?

        I know…I love having photos after the fact but am terrible about taking them. I’ll push myself.

  2. Hi Lili
    Just going to London to be going; no special reason, though I am thinking about becoming an ex pat. I’m am so dissatisfied with what is going on here now. Maybe it’s because I live in DC and here all the news thats not fit to print, but I’ve got to believe there is somewhere better to live. I’ll finish my MA, but after that I plan to be living somewhere else. From your description I will definitely put Paris on my schedule, probably not until spring though.

Leave a Reply

