Comparisons

Comparisons

Its so interesting to compare all of the different cultures I have experienced over the past few weeks. The cultures in Morocco, Spain and Denmark are all incredibly different, but are still connected at their roots. Wherever I go, I find that the personality of people are generally the same. The differences across contients are cultural. Personality is something that is instilled within your DNA, whereas culture is something that is learned. Both our DNA and our culture is deeply connected to the environment. For example, here in Denmark they eat fatty foods and have a pale complexion. The pale complexion is because the sun isn’t as harsh up north. The fatty foods is because the sun isn’t as harsh up north, and leads to colder climates. We burn more energy when its cold, and therefore it is more appropriate to eat fattier foods. This nature and culture has evolved together, and, along with isolation, produces unique cultures.

4 thoughts on “Comparisons

  1. Lily
    I’m following your journey. It sounds absolutely incredible. I wish I had the time and the ‘get up and go’ to do what you’re doing. You’re seeing parts of the world that most Westerners only dream about, if that. And it sounds as though you’re seeing the real culture, not the sanitized version intended for tourists. I look forward to your posts.
    Good luck and enjoy yourself
    Larry C.

    • Thanks Larry! It feels good to get out and clear my head (especially before writing my thesis in the fall!). I can sort of look at my trajectory as an outsider, it gives me good perspective.

      Hope all is well in D.C.!

  2. Lily,

    You’re a peach of a journalist. I am truly enjoying this journey with you — all I wish is that we could appreciate your countenance as you write it. Thanks for taking us along. Might I suggest, though I assume you have probably read it, “Guns, Germs and Steel” by Jared Diamond? It was a great read for me while I stood guard in Iraq all those long months. Godspeed.
    Matthew McCombs

    • Thanks Matthew!

      I just read Guns, Germs and Steel last fall. So good. Its so interesting that cultures which interact with other cultures are able to produce inventions and innovations at a higher rate than other isolated cultures. Its definite proof of Democratic infailibility, progress depends on social relations. We have this conception that we are able to produce on our own, but in reality we need people.

      When do you leave MT?

      Lili

Leave a Reply

